Books, cats and fine wine are the best things in life.

Facebook

Saturday, March 8, 2014

S.M. Boyce on Kara Magari, Her Main Character @TheSMBoyce #fantasy #amreading #bookclub


When you are not writing, how do you like to relax?
I like to watch ghost shows. My current favorite is Paranormal Witness. Whenever I watch TV or a movie at home, I also like to wire wrap pendants. Some are even for sale in my store.
How do you feel about social media websites such as Facebook and Twitter? Are they a good thing?
I think they are because I can connect with fans. They allow us authors to truly meet and greet our fanbase on an international level—it’s astounding and I love it. Twitter is my favorite, but I think that both of them are excellent tools for any author to use. As long as they are used wisely, they can be a great asset.
What movie do you like to watch?
I love kid movies. Wreck it Ralph and Coraline are my top two favorites.
How do you feel about self-publishing?
Self-publishing has been the best option for me. I am a huge believer in the abilities of authors to control the quality of their work, and I always offer advice to those who want to take the self-publishing route. You can subscribe to my Writer’s Corner if you want some tips to getting started.
Can you tell us about your main character?
Kara Magari from my Grimoire Saga is imperfect, and she rocks it like a badge of honor. She’s endured enough grief in her life to know how to overcome it, and while she still has some pretty major flaws, she’s learning. In the course of a week, Kara goes from normal college sophomore from Tallahassee to coveted magical artifact in a hidden world called Ourea. Time and time again, Kara is betrayed by the various people she needs to survive her new home. In this new world, everyone has a skill that sets them apart in some way. Here, she draws attention for what she has become: a fighter.
Have you started another book yet?
I am currently working on the fourth and final installment of the Grimoire Saga. Illusion is set to be released this fall, but I'm hoping to get it out sooner if time is on my side.
Who is your favorite author?
My top three are Neil Gaiman, J. K. Rowling, and J. R. R. Tolkien.

lichgates
"The writing is flawless. The kingdoms and surrounding landscapes breathtaking. The Grimoire is a piece of imaginative genius that bedazzles from the moment Kara falls into the land of Ourea. - Nikki Jefford, author of the Spellbound Trilogy
Spring 2013 Rankings
#6 Kindle Store | #1 Science Fiction & Fantasy | #1 Epic Fantasy | #1 Sword & Sorcery | #1 Teens
Now an international Amazon bestseller. Fans of The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and Eragon will enjoy this contemporary remix of the classic epic fantasy genre.
----------------
Kara Magari is about to discover a beautiful world full of terrifying things: Ourea.
Kara, a college student still reeling from her mother's recent death, has no idea the hidden world of Ourea even exists until a freak storm traps her in a sunken library. With nothing to do, she opens an ancient book of magic called the Grimoire and unwittingly becomes its master, which means Kara now wields the cursed book's untamed power. Discovered by Ourea's royalty, she becomes an unwilling pawn in a generations-old conflict - a war intensified by her arrival. In this world of chilling creatures and betrayal, Kara shouldn't trust anyone... but she's being hunted and can't survive on her own. She drops her guard when Braeden, a native soldier with a dark secret, vows to keep her safe. And though she doesn't know it, her growing attraction to him may just be her undoing.
For twelve years, Braeden Drakonin has lived a lie. The Grimoire is his one chance at redemption, and it lands in his lap when Kara Magari comes into his life. Though he begins to care for this human girl, there is something he wants more. He wants the Grimoire.
Welcome to Ourea, where only the cunning survive.
----------------
Novels in the Grimoire Saga:
Lichgates (#1)
Treason (#2)
Heritage (#3) - Available Fall 2013
Illusion (#4) - Available Fall 2014
Buy Now @ Amazon & Smashwords
Genre - Fantasy
Rating – PG13
More details about the author
 Connect with SM Boyce on Facebook & Twitter & Pinterest

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Google+

Followers

Blog Archive